My Rural Life: Part 1

There are several words I would use to describe my life in Colorado: boring, mundane, in the middle of nowhere. These are the words that usually slip off my tongue when I talk about home. But, with all my qualms with rural Colorado, I have things I have since grown to love. The quiet. The mountains. Nature. Snow.

On warm summer evenings I would put a leash on my dog and take a walk down our long winding road. I’d pause every few feet as the shadows from the trees and the mountains cast picture-perfect lighting over our valley. Most days we could walk down the middle of the road without worrying about a car coming to run us over. We would walk to the creek with the frogs croaking and the deer grazing. Ancient farm houses with horses and weathered red barns.

I use to love and watch the grass move as the wind blew through the valley. They swayed and swished like the ocean. It would grow so high in the summer that you could practically get lost in it.

The dry heat of Colorado summers made them bearable. I’d wander behind our house, one of the few areas densely populated by tall bushes and trees. I’d curl up with a book in the hammock or a chair and completely escape from the world. The trees hid me and took me to a different time and place.

For all the things I hated about living in Colorado, as I move closer and closer to no longer ever living there I can’t help but stop and think about how beautiful it is.

 

Evening walk along the road

 

A look up the lane

 

View of the Mountains

 

Sun reflection

 

View of a neighbors property

 

Up in the Trees

 

By the creek

 

View up the valley

 

Rust

 

Fence

 

Peeling paint

 

Behind the Grass

 

Blowing in the Wind

 

Apple Blossom

 

Hidden Treasure

 

Hidden fence

 

Disappearing sign

 

Across the road

 

Rod Iron trellis in the rain

 

Barn in the mist

 

Country life

 

Weathered barn

 

Stop and pose

 

Iris in the rain

 

House in the trees

 

On the 4th of July

 

Built in 1910

 

When the fog comes in

 

Reflector

 

Up the hill

 

Down the road

 

Wind Turbine

 

Weathered Fence

 

On a rainy day

 

The Valley

 

Cattle and Horse gate

 

Fog and rain

 

Danger

 

All boarded up

 

Over on the hill

 

Through the fog

 

Beaten up by the rain

 

The little house...for the birds
One thought on “My Rural Life: Part 1

Leave a Reply

