Washington, DC Reminiscing

Among the film I developed recently were several photographs I took during spring 2012 in Washington, DC. The cherry blossoms came out early last year so locals had time to enjoy them before the tourists swarmed in and invaded the city. It was the first year I had my film camera with me during the bloom. So I jumped at the chance to photograph.

My cherry blossom wanderings last year took me away from the Tidal Basin, down towards Capitol Hill. Sometimes aimlessly wandering you find the coolest things. After five years in the city I stumbled upon parts of the Capitol Hill area I had maybe only seen once before. My shutter went crazy capturing what I could, while I could—in a few short weeks I left the city. It was quite a find so late during my life in DC.

There have been a few times since I left DC, over the past year that I look back on the things I miss about the city. A long beautiful spring accentuated by the Cherry Blossoms is one of those. We had a beautiful spring in Chicago this year, but nothing compared to Spring in DC. After you leave place you’ve lived in, you have moments where you miss it. Those moments where you think about the things you did and the people you knew. Those moments when you reminisce about your past life.

I say past life, because that’s really what it is. Leaving a place you’ve lived in, for however brief a time, is a different chapter in your life. But, that makes it all the more special. It gives you a chance to remember all the things you loved and forget all the things that you didn’t (or maybe even hated). Stumbling upon these photos gave me a chance to reminisce about one of my favorite things DC has to offer.

Tulip Tree
Tulip Tree
Senate Park
Senate Park
Senate Park
Senate Park
Ulysses S. Grant Memorial
Ulysses S. Grant Memorial
Ulysses S. Grant Memorial
Ulysses S. Grant Memorial
Capitol Reflecting Pool
Capitol Reflecting Pool
Cherry Blossoms
Cherry Blossoms
Japanese American Memorial
Japanese American Memorial
Cherry Blossoms
Cherry Blossoms
Columbus Circle
Columbus Circle
Union Station
Union Station
Union Station
Union Station
Senate Park
Senate Park
Cherry Blossoms
Cherry Blossoms
Tulips
Tulips
Cherry Blossoms
Cherry Blossoms
Robert Taft Memorial
Robert Taft Memorial
In the Summer House on Capitol HIll
In the Summer House on Capitol HIll
Summer House Fountain
Summer House Fountain
Summer House
Summer House
Summer House
Summer House
Capitol Buildling
Capitol Buildling
The Mall
The Mall
Leave a Reply

