Spanish Steps

After five years in DC I never did EVERYTHING I wanted to do in the city. I had dreams of going to the arboretum. Of visiting every museum. Of seeing every garden. Of hiking through each of the parks. Of seeing the Spanish Steps.

My trip this past week was mostly sentimental. It wasn’t filled with things I hadn’t done, but things I missed about DC. As I wandered around Dupont Circle I stumbled upon the Spanish Steps.The steps were built in 1911 as part of the City Beautiful Movement as a way to connect S Street and Decatur Place. (In 1989 the Spanish Steps were place on the National Register of Historic Places). The Spanish Steps aren’t a typical attraction. I don’t think any tourists go out of their way to find them. They’re not all that exciting. They’re just steps. But, they’re certainly an impressive set of steps.

IMG_5883 (683x1024) IMG_5884 (1024x683) IMG_5885 (683x1024) IMG_5888 (860x1024) IMG_5890 (683x1024) IMG_5893 (1024x683) IMG_5894 (1024x683)

Spanish Steps

 

Leave a Reply

